Ode to The Lonely Occupier

Dear Brothers and Sisters of the Occupy Movement:

So there I was, standing by myself, in the den of complacency and inequity we call Cambridge City Hall.  Around me sat lawyers, residents, a handful of civil workers, and council.

The last municipal election saw problems with people missing from the voter’s list, a list they get from somebody else.   People were registered in the wrong wards, electronic voting machines wound up having problems, the data wasn’t up-to-date enough.   Those same problems will be compounded with the increase of voters if you don’t fix the reasons for the errors in the first place.   With new technology comes new reasons for failure.  Tonight was the decision on whether or not our city was going to take the next step in municipal elections by adding the Internet, telephone, or mail to vote.  Here I am, in a city of 130,000 residents, and I was the only guy there playing the devil’s advocate.

One of the most important aspects of The Occupy Movement, our democracy, was in for a radical change, and I was alone.  They’re doing it, anyway.

Society needs to upgrade, too.

4 thoughts on “Ode to The Lonely Occupier

  1. it will be many many years (if ever) before internet voting is secure. Consider denial of service attacks, viruses, and various other forms of hacking. Voting machines aren’t much better, but they’re here to stay, and they could be made more secure if we had open source code (such as linux) and independent certification authorities.

  2. I’m so sorry, Brett. I picked a really bad time to come down with a sinus infection and pneumonia, otherwise I had fully intended to be there tonight. And I know how you feel. Many times I have been at council meetings, where important issues were on the table, and there was no one else there. Again…. very, very sorry. I’ve been using my downtime wisely and helping to organize the Occupy Cambridge meeting. Hope to see you there.

  3. Ladies and Gents around the planet, this is Sue from our little gang of occupiers here in Waterloo Region. Sue, say hi to the world, lol Take the damn night off already and don’t worry about it. 😉

  4. And history will show that the election in question received exactly the same amount of votes as the previous election.

    Internet voting only made it more convenient for regular voters, and these fine folks decided to spend $108,000 against my recommendations, because frankly no one in the organization in question really had a clue.

    Society, at least the 70% that never vote, for lack of a better word, do not give a shit about anyone but themselves.

    Cambridge, you owe me $108,000 because I warned you and you didn’t listen. I’ll take that in small bills.

Leave a Reply

